Healthified Chicken Parmigiana!

One of my all-time favorite dishes to order when out at an Italian restaurant is chicken parmigiana. 🙂 I love the crispy chicken covered in marinara with gooey melted mozz on top! Delish! However, I know that meal is probably worth 3 meals and goes straight to my stomach and/or hips! Every once in a while it is worth the splurge. But at home I am not as willing to drop my daily calories on one meal {not that I count calories, although I should if I want to get serious about weight training again!}!! So, when I stumbled across this healthified remix of chicken parm I was so excited!  I just had to get the hubby on board to be my taste tester!

This recipe cuts the calories by using whole grain crackers and egg whites versus full egg and bread crumbs. Also, the addition of fresh herbs really helps this dish stand out. I loved that you could still get the crunch that chicken parm has, but with a healthy spin. It was nice knowing that you were eating whole grain versus white bread crumbs. Also, this version is baked and not fried whereas a lot of restaurant versions are pan fried in oil. All in all – this recipe was a keeper! Aside from a few extra dishes to clean thanks to the use of the food processor, I think this recipe is a keeper!

Delish! Don’t let the pictures fool you. This was a yummy dish! {Forgive me for the horrible photo quality – I chalk it up to absolutely no free time. Oh the life of a grad student/student teacher!}

Healthifed Chicken Parmigiana

Ingredients:

  • 3 ounces baked whole-grain wheat crackers, such as Triscuits {about 12 }
    **I would suggest throwing in a few extra for good measure!
  • 1/3 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cans {28 ounces} diced tomatoes (no salt added), with juice
  • 1 can {8 ounces} tomato puree
  • 1/2 medium onion {3 ounces}, coarsely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped {3 teaspoons}
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves {6 ounces each}
  • 3 ounces part-skim mozzarella cheese, grated {about 1 cup}
  • 1 ounce Parmesan cheese, finely grated {about 1/2 cup}

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Pulse crackers, parsley, oregano, and 1 teaspoon salt in a food processor until finely ground. Season with pepper, and transfer to a plate. Puree tomatoes with juice, onion, garlic, and 1/2 teaspoon salt with an immersion blender or in clean food processor until smooth.
  2. Coat a 9-by-13-inch baking dish with oil. Lightly whisk egg whites, and transfer to a shallow dish. Dip each chicken breast half in whites to fully coat; let excess drip off. Dredge chicken in crumb mixture, lightly pressing, to coat both sides.
  3. Transfer chicken to prepared baking dish, and flip once to coat in oil. Bake until crisp, about 10 minutes.
  4. Pour tomato sauce over chicken, allowing some sauce underneath each piece. Top with cheeses, and bake until bubbling and top is lightly browned, 15 to 20 minutes.

Source & recipe adapted from: Whole Living

Weekly Question – What is your favorite restaurant meal? Leave me your answer either on the blog as a comment or on the {Santies Sunnyside Up} Facebook page! By the way, if you haven’t, go like the official Facebook page!!!

Have a blessed day friends!

4 thoughts on “Healthified Chicken Parmigiana!

  1. The pictures look darn appetizing to me. That cheese looks fantastic and very clever change-up on the ingredients. Fresh herbs and seasonings are a great way to go too. 🙂

    • Oooh! Yum. 🙂 I have never had the chance to try quail. I’m not sure I have seen it on the menu around my town. But, scallops are always a great choice and definitely at most restaurants around here! I love living near the ocean, we always have plenty of delicious sea food!

      Thanks for stopping by! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

