Feed your brain!

The other morning I felt completely fuzzy. My head was in the clouds! It was also one of those days where I didn’t have the luxury of dragging. Most days are like that for me, considering I’m in charge of the learning and well-being of 22 six-year olds! So, I did some Googling and found an awesome recipe for fruit smoothies! After drinking it, I honestly felt like I had fed my brain instead of my body.

I was reminded of how amazing our bodies are, and how often we feed them horribly. I am so guilty of this! I would much rather eat something that is tasty and makes me feel better {think comfort food: pizza, mac and cheese, bagels, etc.}, rather than sacrifice some taste and eat something that feeds my mind and body.

I need to be better about this! My husband always tries to remind me, that the foods that taste good, will taste better if they truly become treats!

Long story short… I’ve made this smoothie a few times. It is made of whole foods and seriously feeds your brain. I feel so much better on the days that I have made it! You should give it a shot!

A few tricks/tips: 1) You can easily halve this recipe if you still want to eat a piece of toast with your smoothie. I have made it both ways, a full and a half and it works well! Try it with different fruits! One morning I did all strawberry, one morning I did tropical fruit! It is so fun! 2) Freeze your bananas! Mine always go bad before I can use them. Cut your bananas in half, and freeze! When you use frozen fruit, you don’t need ice cubes to get a thicker consistency! 3) Jamie’s original recipe calls for milk or juice. To keep calories lower and add some sweetness, I use half apple juice and half water. 🙂

Frozen Fruit Smoothies

Ingredients:

1/4 cup quick oats {not instant oats}
1 banana {I like mine frozen for a thicker consistency}
1 cup frozen fruit {I buy whole frozen fruit at Fred Meyer’s, I use about 6-8 pieces of whole fruits}
2 heaping tablespoons plain low-fat yogurt
1/2 cup apple juice
1/2 cup water {more or less depending on desired consistency}

Directions:

Add  ingredients to a blender. Blend until you reach desired consistency and enjoy!

Source and recipe adapted from: Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution!

 

Cheers to a great weekend y’all!

One thought on “Feed your brain!

Leave a Reply

