36/52: Choco-Oat-Chip Cookies with Patrina

Whoa… this might be a record. Two posts back to back, in one week. I’m quite the over-achiever aren’t I? šŸ˜‰ Just kidding! I’m posting this a week early, which will likely put me ahead of my 52 week/52 posts goal but, considering this is my August long distance baking project I can’t bear to post it come September! So… grab your cup of coffee, kick you feet up and get ready to stroll down memory lane with me! šŸ™‚

When I think back to my childhood memories I can almost always remember having Nestle Toll House cookies freshly baked in the house, all the time. They are as American as apple pie to me! It was always so exciting when I opened my lunch box and saw a freshly baked cookie in its little zip lock baggy. There is something so magical about them. Since school is approaching, we decided that for our August long distance baking project that we would whip together some Nestle Toll House cookies!

As much as I love the traditional recipe, it’s by far not my absolute favorite texture, etc. But, like I said there is something so nostalgic about them! I started searching the internet looking for little ‘twists’ to the traditional recipe… when I stumbled on this neat little ditto… the history of the Nestle Toll House cookie!

The Nestle Toll House Story

Ever wonder how we got our name? It all began in the 1930s, with
the Toll House Inn, owned by Ruth and Kenneth Wakefield. Here, Ruth would
prepare delicious, home-cooked meals that would be served for her guests.

An Unexpected Surprise
One day, while preparing a batch of Butter Drop Do cookies, a favorite recipe
dating back to Colonial days, Ruth cut a bar of our NESTLƉĀ® Semi-Sweet
Chocolate into tiny bits and added them to her dough, expecting them to melt.
Instead, the chocolate held its shape and softened to a delicately creamy
texture.

A Favorite Was Born
The resulting creation became very popular at the Inn. Soon, Ruth’s recipe was
published in a Boston newspaper, as well as other papers in the New England
area. Regional sales of our delicious NESTLƉĀ® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar
skyrocketed. Eventually, the NESTLƉĀ® TOLL HOUSEĀ® Cookie recipe was printed on
the wrapper of our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar.

As the popularity of the original NESTLƉĀ® TOLL HOUSEĀ® cookie continued to grow, we
looked for ways to make it easier for people to bake. Soon, we began scoring
the Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar, and packaged it with a special chopper for easily
cutting it into small morsels.

The World’s First Morsels
Shortly after, in 1939, we began offering tiny pieces of chocolate in
convenient, ready-to-use packages and that is how the first NESTLƉĀ® TOLL HOUSEĀ®
Real Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels were introduced.

Since they were first used by Ruth Wakefield in what would become the most popular
cookie of all time, NESTLƉĀ® TOLL HOUSEĀ® Semi-Sweet Morsels have inspired
millions of people to bake and share their cookies and their wonderful baking
stories.

Isn’t that cool?! Ā I just love knowing the story behind things. šŸ™‚ Well, my searches online were not so successful. I didn’t find anything that was a minor tweak to the recipe… so we decided to go with anotherĀ Toll House favorite – Choco-Oat-Chip cookies! I just love the addition of oatmeal to cookies.

As I was baking these, I forgot how huge the batch is. There was so much cookie dough! I ended up only baking about half of the dough, and ended up freezing the rest… stay tuned for next week’s blog post. A super fun tutorial that includes the freezing of this dough! šŸ™‚ Until then, tide yourself over by whipping up some cookies for your kiddos first day back at school. I know they’ll remember that special Toll House cookie in their lunch box or Toll House cookie for an after school snack when they grow up, just as much as I stillĀ do!

Nestle Toll House Choco-Oat-Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt {optional — omit if using salted butter}
1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup {2 sticks} butter or margarine, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups quick or old-fashioned oats
2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) NESTLƉĀ® TOLL HOUSEĀ® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
1 cup coarsely chopped nuts {optional}– {I used chopped pecans}

Directions:

PreheatĀ oven to 375Ā° F.

Combine flour, baking soda and saltĀ in small bowl. Beat brown sugar, butter and granulated sugar in large mixer bowl until creamy. Beat in eggs, milk and vanilla extract. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in oats, morsels and nuts; mix well. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets {I lined mine with parchment paper}.

BakeĀ for 9 to 10 minutes for chewy cookies or 12 to 13 minutes for crispy cookies. Cool on baking sheets for 1 minute; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Source & Recipe: Nestle Toll House

Leave a Reply

