30/52: Chicken Tortilla Soup

What a beautiful weekend we had, right!? I loved seeing the sunshine, it was a welcomed change from the dreary, autumn like weather we’ve been having. And let me just tell you the reason I’m posting late {again… I know, I know}… it was because I was livin’ it up in the bee-u-tee-ful weather. Well, that’s what I wish I could tell you. Truth be told, I was livin’ it up… On my couch.   :-/ For those who know me I have had a horrible stint of bring sick with one thing or another since May. I thought I had finally gotten better, but my lovely allergies led me to a horrible sinus infection which led to a bigger infection in my lungs and it totally knocked me down ALL weekend. Sigh. Thank goodness for my loving and kind Hubby who kicked it on the couch with me all weekend. We have almost finished Pacific and we just bought it yesterday {for those who don’t know it is total of nearly 10 hours about the war in the Pacific}. Watch it people! Good stuff! I also managed to pop out some yummy goodies for us for my July Baking project with my Aunt, but due to my being sick and other circumstances that project will be posted later this week. And believe you me… It’s a goooood post, so stay tuned.

Long story short, due to my recovery, my post is a little late. Thank goodness for antibiotics. I’m going on nearly 2 weeks and didn’t show signs of getting better. Sigh! Anyway… In honor of my recovery I’m posting my recipe for my favorite soup! While chicken noodle is great, I rarely crave it. My soup of choice is Chicken Tortilla Soup! Delish. 🙂 It is so simple, next time you’re in the mood for soup or you’re sicky, give it a try. It will make you feel better – I’m certain of it. {And pardon the pictures… they were taken with my iPhone… I so didn’t have the energy to grab my Rebel, edit, etc. tonight!}

So yummy…This is definitely my ‘comfort’ soup!

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts
1/2 an onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup shredded carrots
1 cup black beans
1 cup salsa {I prefer Pace w/ this — you could use fresh salsa but you will get better flavor from Pace}
4 cups chicken broth
1 cup canned corn
Johnnys seasoning salt
Onion powder
Garlic powder
Red pepper flakes {optional}

Directions:

1. Add oil to a large skillet and preheat pan on medium heat. Season chicken with Johnnys, onion powder, garlic powder and red pepper flakes {I cut my chicken into tender size pieces, they were nice and easy to work with}. Add chicken to skillet and cook until just done. Remove from skillet and set aside for them to cool. Once cooled, shred or cut chicken into bite size pieces.

2. Add oil to large pot {about 1 T} and heat on medium. Add onion and garlic, saute until transparent. Add carrots, saute a few moments longer. Once tender, add in the black beans and chicken and stir to combine, then add salsa and give a final stir. Once combined, add chicken broth and bring soup to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer for approximately 20 minutes.

3.  After first simmer, add corn and bring back to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer until ready to serve! Serve with tortilla chips, shredded cheese, sour cream, avocado, etc…

Source & Recipe: Santies Sunnyside Up … adapted from my mom’s recipe.

I hope everyone has a fantastic week! Keep checking back for my next awesome, yummy post… I am so excited to share it with you all!

2 thoughts on “30/52: Chicken Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

