24/52: Life revamp & Bridal Shower Cupcakes

If you know me, it is not surprise to hear I am a creature of routine. I love getting up every morning with my husband, getting him off to work and then going about my day. I love going to work every morning… Even if I don’t want to work, the simple process of getting ready and accomplishing something during the day is fabulous. It gives me purpose. I had anticipated that I’d have to get used to a new routine once I started school. But I am shocked at how crazy my life has felt for the past week! Not only am I not in a routine at home yet (juggling laundry, cooking, cleaning and most importantly homework) I am struggling to get my brain movin’ again. My academic critical thinking skills definitely are getting a “tune-up” right now. 😉 I am just hoping that I get back into a routine soon, I hate feeling disorganized!

Needless to say, this week has been one full of adjustment and my blog somewhat suffered! I posted a short, sweet inspirational post last week because I was busy baking for my bestie’s bridal shower… And well, this week I haven’t had time until now. On the positive – thank goodness for 4 day class weeks so I can play catch up!

This week I bring you Rachel’s bridal shower cupcakes! These have been a on-going recipe experiment. I think I finally found a combination I like. I guess as the saying goes “third time’s the charm”! The first time around my inspiration was a flavor concept, so I googled multiple recipes. I wanted a coconut cupcake with coconut buttercream. The recipe was semi-homemade and the frosting was overly sweet. The second time around I made them for my bridal shower. I wanted to bake and just baked the flavor I was asked to. When it came time for Rachel’s shower I gave her a ling list of flavor options but she wanted coconut! This time I decided to make the frosting  on a whim and we decided to pair it with a vanilla and/or chocolate cupcake to bring out the coconut flavor more. And you know what? I loved them!! They were delicious and a big hit at the shower. Yum! Enjoy!!


Dark Chocolate and Vanilla Cupcakes

The dark chocolate cupcake is the same recipe that I used on my Dark Chocolate Mini Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream  post {And were originally from Brown Eyed Baker}, with the addition of 1/4 tsp of espresso powder to emphasize the chocolate flavor. The vanilla cupcake recipe can be found on one of my favorite blogs, Brown Eyed Baker.

Coconut Buttercream

*Enough to frost 12 cupcakes or so, double if you are making more than 12

2 sticks salted butter, at room temperature
3-5 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 T Coconut extract
Heavy cream, at room temperature {Cold milk or cream added to frosting can cause curdling}

Start by creaming the butter in the bowl of a standup mixer with the paddle attachment. Cream until light and fluffy {a few minutes}. Add 2-3 cups of the confectioner’s sugar to start, continue adding until the consistency is very, very thick {This will vary for everyone on multiple factors}. Beat until all ingredients are completely incorporated and smooth. Add the coconut extract {I would start by adding half the extract and then adding more to taste} and beat on medium until the frosting is smooth and well combined, about 2-3 minutes. Add a small amount of the heavy cream to somewhat thin the frosting to a medium {piping} consistency. Once you have added enough heavy cream for your desired consistency, whip the frosting on medium-high until extremely fluffy. Add to piping bag and decorate!

The finished product!

Have fun decorating… I decorated them three different ways to add some flair, some are decorated like snow balls with shaved coconut and some are decorated simply with pearl sprinkles. Get creative and have fun. 🙂

Happy Friday – everyone enjoy your weekend and don’t forget to celebrate all of those awesome dads out there!

4 thoughts on “24/52: Life revamp & Bridal Shower Cupcakes

  1. These look delicious! I love the little colored decorations too. So cute! Good luck getting organized again. I’m with you – I hate to be disorganized and much prefer to have a routine of sorts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

