21/52: Dark Chocolate Mini Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

Wow! It has been a crazy week. I am absolutely exhausted from balancing everything in my personal life, work life and getting ready for school. But alas, tomorrow is my last day at work. It’s a strange feeling. Tomorrow is a day that has kept me going for the past three weeks. Through the stress and the anxiety, through the emotional and the exhaustion. But the fact that it is right around the corner (literally, hours) is a very indescribable feeling. I am sure tomorrow will be a day of tears. My office has become a large portion of my life and it will be a huge adjustment to not have them right there every day. But, the transition will be slightly easier since I get to attend the work outing next week! 🙂

Well – as you all know I love to bake. My friend and co-worker Natalie also loves to bake. We always like to bring our goodies in to the office for all to taste (and mostly so we aren’t tempted to eat the entire quantity of our kitchen experiments!). Since I am leaving this week, I found it only fitting to bake up a little lovin’ for the office. Are you ready for this? Are you sure? Okay then. Keep reading!

I am so excited to share this delicious recipe with you all! Eeeeeeek!

So, when it comes to dessert, I love a wide variety of flavors. There are very few that I will turn my nose up to. But you know you can never go wrong with the combination of chocolate and peanut butter. Never. Ever. Ever. Recently my hubby ordered one of those adorable little mini cupcakes that Starbucks is selling now. It was their chocolate peanut butter cupcake. And, while I thought it was decent, I wasn’t that impressed. Probably because I have had my eye on this delicious recipe for quite some time. I finally got the chance to make it and ever since, I’ve been kicking myself for waiting so long! The one change I did make was to the frosting. The Starbucks cupcake was too peanut butter-y. It almost tasted straight out of a jar. I wanted a sweet, yet not over powering peanut butter buttercream. So, I made a few adjustments to the recipe and I have changed those in the recipe below.

Enjoy!

Dark Chocolate Mini Cupcakes

8 T (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
2 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder {yes this makes a difference}
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sour cream

1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat to 350 degrees F. (If you are using a non-stick muffin pan, heat the oven to 325 degrees F.) Line standard-size muffin pan with baking cup liners.

2. Combine butter, chocolate, and cocoa in medium heatproof bowl. Set bowl over saucepan containing barely simmering water; heat mixture until butter and chocolate are melted and whisk until smooth and combined. (Alternately, you can microwave the mixture at 50% power, stirring every 30 seconds until completely melted.) Set aside to cool until just warm to the touch.

3. Whisk flour, baking soda, and baking powder in small bowl to combine.

4. Whisk eggs in second medium bowl to combine; add sugar, vanilla, and salt until fully incorporated. Add cooled chocolate mixture and whisk until combined. Sift about one-third of flour mixture over chocolate mixture and whisk until combined; whisk in sour cream until combined, then sift remaining flour mixture over and whisk until batter is homogeneous and thick.

5. Divide the batter evenly among muffin pan cups. Bake until skewer inserted into center of cupcakes comes out clean, 12 to 14 minutes.

6. Cool cupcakes in muffin pan on wire rack until cool enough to handle, about 5 minutes. Carefully lift each cupcake from muffin pan and set on wire rack. Cool to room temperature before icing, about 30 minutes.

Source: Recipe from Brown Eyed Baker

Peanut Butter Buttercream

1-3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 cup creamy peanut butter
5 T unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/3 cup heavy cream

Place the butter and peanut butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Beat on low-speed until creamy. Scrape the bowl with a rubber spatula. Add 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, vanilla and salt, beat on low-speed until it starts to incorporate. Continue adding confectioners’ sugar until the desired sweetness. Add the heavy cream and beat on medium-low speed until the mixture is light and smooth.

Source & Recipe: Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Fluffy peanut buttery goodness. These seriously taste and smell like Rieces pieces… Oh man. I will be making these again soon!! They are decadent.

I hope everyone has a fantastic Friday tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “21/52: Dark Chocolate Mini Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

  1. Pingback: 24/52: Life revamp & Bridal Shower Cupcakes | {Santies Sunnyside Up}

Leave a Reply

