Turkey, Spinach & Feta Burgers

As I was sipping my coffee this morning, I looked out the window and saw a beautiful deep pink sky forming above the Cascades. When this happens before sunrise, this usually means we are in store for a beautiful day. Well, I think I was right because as I watched the sunrise, I was able to snag this shot…

Oh yeah. I think we’re in for a beautiful day my fellow Western Washingtonians!

I was a little indecisive about what I wanted to share with you this week as far as recipes. But, this sunrise definitely helped me decide which recipe to post this morning! I figured since we’re likely to have rain the rest of the week, who wouldn’t love to do a little grilling? A few weeks ago I experimented with a few different recipes and came up with a winner. Turkey, spinach & feta burgers! They were so good, and even husband approved. I think I heard him say they might even be better than our normal beef burgers! Score.

These come together in a pinch and grill up beautifully. You can even cook these in a skillet if you don’t have access to a grill. I actually used my indoor grill pan because it’s much easier for burgers {We live in a condo and people don’t take care of our community grill – not the best cooking conditions for burgers!}.  I definitely recommend you try these – you won’t regret it.

Ingredients:

1 pkg ground turkey breast {I think mine was just over 1 lb}
5 oz. chopped spinach, drained {About half of the frozen pack, defrosted}
1/3 c. crumbled feta cheese
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 tsp garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste {Probably 1/2 tsp – 1 tsp}

Directions:

Combine ingredients in a bowl and mix together {fingers, spoon – however you wish}. Divide the mixture into fourths {Or  more if you like smaller burgers} and form into patties. After I make my patties, I like to keep them separated by some wax paper. That is totally optional though.

Place patties on a pre-heated grill or skillet {If using an indoor grill pan or skillet, use a little EVOO to prevent sticking}. Cook on each side approximately 4-6 minutes depending on size.

These smell soo good while cooking. I couldn’t wait to bite into some of that delicious feta! Once burgers are done, serve with the accompaniments of your choice! We ate this for dinner with all the burger fixin’s and sweet potato fries. The next day we took the leftovers for lunch without a bun, topped with red onion and tomato. I recommend trying them both ways. They have so much flavor you won’t even miss the bun!

Yum! Give them a try – let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

