16/52: Weekend getaway – Port Townsend, WA

This past weekend we were planning on taking John’s dad out to Port Townsend for his early birthday present {today is his actual birthday — happy birthday Senior!}. One of our favorite breweries is in Port Townsend, and considering John and his dad love brewing beer, we thought it would be fun to take him up there. Last minute we decided it would be fun to turn it into a weekend getaway. It was nice to get out of ‘dodge’ for the night!

It was also Winston’s first ‘big’ road/overnight trip! Less than an hour in, he was already knocked out.

Sleepy boy! πŸ™‚

We got into town and decided to grab some lunch – I had one of the best burgers of my life at Sirens Pub! Oh my gosh – to die for… then we headed to Port Townsend Brewery! Yeah!

A few quick photos – then down to business! I found a new PT {Port Townsend} favorite… I normally love their Scotch Ale. But it doesn’t compare to…

Their Brown Porter!!! YUM!

The other fun part is they have peanuts! It’s the kind of place you just throw the shells on the ground… πŸ™‚

While I was enjoying my brown porter, John was enjoying a Barley Wine and lotsa peanuts. πŸ™‚ We had a lot of fun at the brewery and tasted a few more brews, then headed to a nice dinner to cap off the night. All in the middle of this were my ‘baby’ updates about my sister and nephew. After dinner, John and I went for a little walk around town to enjoy the crisp, spring air and take advantage of the sun! {We’ve been having rain e-v-e-r-y day for I don’t know how long!}

Smile! πŸ™‚

I’m unsure why I always feel compelled to take photos of ferries… we have a trillion of them in Washington. There’s just something about them!

There is also just something about being by the water… John and I love the water. I doubt we could ever move away from it. It’s so soothing and peaceful.

It was a beautiful end to our evening! We had a great time and really enjoyed being out-of-town. Sometimes its good to get away even if you’re only a few hours from home.

Oh hi little friend. πŸ˜‰ This is one thing I could stand missing. Sea gulls are so obnoxious. But this little guy wanted to pose for me.

Oh yeah, and we stopped by the Bayview for some breakfast the next morning. The restaurant isn’t anything super special, but it isΒ right on the water and it’s where we ate breakfast after John proposed to me! We had to go back… Awh. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and another reason I couldn’t leave the Pacific Northwest? Check this out… Awh. Beautiful.

Can’t beat that.

See what I mean? Peaceful. Love it.

Thats all folks…Until next time… {I have some super yummy recipes coming up!}

Leave a Reply

