15/52: Strawberry Cheesecake Squares

Woo hoo! Happy Wednesday. We’ve made it half way through the week. 🙂 I was originally going to save this recipe for a different post but decided I couldn’t wait! You see, I’ve decided I need to get more serious about working out and having delicious baked goodies around the house makes it difficult. So, I won’t be baking until after my bestie’s wedding at the end of June! JUNE! How am I going to make it? …I’m sure I will find tons of healthy recipes to share. Hehe.
 
We had one of Johnny’s friends over for dinner on Sunday and naturally that screamed “bake something yummy!”. But his friend doesn’t like overly sweet desserts. After looking through my new favorite cookbook {Our Best Bites – and no, I’m not Mormon but the recipes are to-die-for! So even if you aren’t a Mormon, check the cookbook out!}, which is also one of my favorite blogs, I settled on this yummy Strawberry Cheesecake Square recipe! All in all the recipe is pretty simple. My squares didn’t turn out nearly as pretty as theirs did, but nonetheless I took pictures. Don’t let the pictures discourage you because these are absolutely delicious. And, they gave me a little hint of spring which I {and most other Washingtonians} so desperately need right now! And I now know how incredible easy it is to make your own strawberry sauce. I’m tempted to try it with other berries and fruits next. I mean, how fun would a blackberry sauce drizzled over pecan pancakes be?! Such a fun and versatile concept.

So, without further adieu, I present to you… Strawberry Cheesecake Squares!

 
 And they are even yummier {that’s a word, right?} with the leftover strawberry sauce drizzled over top!

  

Strawberry Cheesecake Squares

Ingredients:

1 package Pecan Sandies Cookies, divided
1 1/2 Tbsp. butter, melted
11 oz. cream cheese (1 8-oz. package + 3 oz. of another package, not low-fat), softened
2 eggs
2/3 c. sugar
pinch salt
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. almond extract
2 c. Breakstone’s Sour Cream
1 1/4 c. strawberry sauce* or strawberry jam, divided (recipe below; you can also use jarred strawberry topping or canned strawberry pie filling)

*Strawberry Sauce
1 pint fresh strawberries – washed, hulled and roughly chopped
1/3 c. white sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine ingredients in a medium sauce pain and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring and breaking up strawberries constantly with a wooden spoon. After 5 minutes, remove from heat and allow to cool. Once cool enough, transfer to a blender and pulse until smooth (or your desired texture).

Preheat oven to 375.

Spray a 9Ă—13 pan with non-stick cooking spray. In a food processor, process 3/4 of the Pecan Sandies (reserve 6). Mix with melted butter and lightly press onto the bottom of the pan. Set aside.

In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine cream cheese eggs, sugar, salt, vanilla, almond extract, and sour cream. Beat on high for 4-5 minutes. Spread half of the cheesecake batter onto the bottom of a 9×13 pan. Pour 3/4 c. of the strawberry sauce over the batter, spreading gently to cover the surface (it doesn’t have to be perfect). Spread remaining cheesecake batter over the strawberry layer and then spoon remaining 1/2 c. of strawberry sauce over the batter. Being careful not to cut into the surface of the cookie crust, swirl the strawberry mixture with a butter knife.

Bake at 375 for 25-35 minutes or until center is jiggly but not liquid. While baking, process remaining 6 cookies. During the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle the cookies on top of the cheesecake. Chill for at least 8 hours and cut into squares. If desired, drizzle remaining strawberry sauce over the individual squares.

Source & Recipes: Our Best Bites Cookbook

Stay tuned for my next post! Until then…

One thought on “15/52: Strawberry Cheesecake Squares

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Spring With A Virtual Dinner Party « Manna and Quail

Leave a Reply

