7/52: Is the Golden Rule Extinct?

Something has been bothering me for some time. It bothers me every day when I go to work, every time I go to the grocery store and I’d even venture to say every time I’m out in public. What is this thing that bothers me so much? …let me explain by starting out with a question (or three).

What ever happened to the day of slowing down slightly and letting a car in front of you only because the need over? What happened to the day when you would help someone out of the (gasp) kindness of your heart because they were in need? What happened to the day of putting someone before you just because it feels good?

That is my gripe. This world lacks some serious empathy.

I mean, is it going to kill you to let a car in front of you? No. Afterall it is a person in the car ahead of you, that isn’t just a machine. If you let someone in even if you’re running late it’s not going to make you that much later. Put yourself in that person’s position. How does it feel when no one lets you in?

I just can’t get past the lack of empathy and the lack of consideration in this world. Sure, people take advantage of other people. It happens. You can’t control it. But does that mean every person is going to take advantage of you? No. Not at all! I know I’m guilty of not being considerate of others 100% of the time, but I really do make an effort. Do you ever wonder what sort of chain reaction would occur if everyone made just a 10% greater effort to think of others? (That is 1 out of 10 situations folks – that’s nothing, zilch, nada!) I can’t even begin to think of the wonderful repercussions that would have! 🙂

I guess this is more of a rant than a blog post, but I felt that I needed to say it. I needed to get this off my chest and I needed to hold myself accountable for trying even harder than I already do.

So friends, I challenge you this week… to (this is far-fetched, I know, but stay with me)…. treat others how you want to be treated.

Ohh yes, the good old ‘Golden Rule’ or ethic of reciprocity… good stuff. Live it, and love it folks. The world just might become a better place because of it. It only takes a few people to cause a chain reaction. 😀

xoxo, ss

[Stay tuned… I have been pretty late in the week with my blog posts – life is busy right now. But I have a yummy (literally, you might need to refrain from eating your screen) post coming up for the beginning of the week!]

Leave a Reply

