4/52: The little things.

Sometimes I feel like I allow myself to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of life. There is constantly so much going on, and it is so easy to lose sight of what is really important. I can’t tell you how often I get busy at work with my brain running at what feels like a thousand miles an hour, and when I get home it doesn’t stop. When I get in these moods it’s so simple to allow myself to miss the special moments with my husband & sweet crazy pants puppy, things that would normally make me giggle and smile from ear to ear. I hate the thought of missing out on those times. Because of that, I try my absolute hardest to enjoy each moment and not take anything for granted. But guess what? I’m human and I get it wrong A LOT of the time!

Yesterday was a pretty normal morning, aside from the fact that I was exhausted. My brain couldn’t seem to shut down all  night. I was a little rushed, but got ready as usual, just going through ‘the motions’.  I went to say good-bye to my husband, and went to walk out the door. Just another normal day – nothing special, right? I turned around to grab something I forgot and looked out the window and I was caught completely off guard. Right before my eyes was one of the most beautiful sunrises I have seen in weeks. (How could you not LOVE waking up to this view from your window?!)

View from our condo. 

Its moments like these that I just know God is looking down on me and reminding me that I need to cherish each moment in this world he created for us. You never know when life will be taken from you or someone you love dearly. We are not guaranteed tomorrow. 

I often feel that when I allow myself to get caught up in worldly things, God is right there to remind me that there is something bigger happening. My life is so blessed and even if I don’t have every material item that I want,  it doesn’t matter in the scheme of things. Because you know what makes my life worth living? The little things.

So, my challenge to myself: enjoy each moment and remember…
“Life’s not the breath you take, the breathing in and out that gets you through the day, aint what it’s all about. Ya just might miss the point, try’n to win the race. Life’s not the breath you take, but the moments that take your breath away.”

 

Ooooh take it away King George! Happy Friday eve all! 🙂

xoxo, ss

Leave a Reply

